Mangalore University Library

Quick Links:

     Web OPAC     J-Gate Database      Sage Online Journals     e-Resource: Local Access     e-Resource: Remote Access Mangalore University Library Building Mangalore University Library Building

The Mangalore University Library was established in 1980. It moved to an independent building in 1993 which is planned for 9000sq. meters area. Presently, around 4250 sq. meters area is being used to accommodate the Browsing, Circulation, Periodical, Reference, Stack, Textbook and Kannada Sections. The building also houses an Office, Acquisition Section, Orientation Hall, Librarian's room and Computer Server Room.

At present the library has in its Stock 1,92,598 books, 23,085 back volumes apart from Reports, Theses etc., covering a wide variety of subjects. It has a rich collection of about 316 research and general interest journals on a wide range of subjects. It has access to over 4500 Journals in Full text in e-form from UGC-INFONET and Contents pages of 45000 Journals with abstract facility across the globe from inside web Database of British Library Document Supply centre (BLDSC), U.K.

A separate collection of NBHM and USIS Publications are displayed in separate corners that is at Stack and Periodical Sections. These publications have been useful to Faculty Members and Research Scholars in Science and Social Sciences. A collection of reprints and preprints on popular subjects is also being built up. Display panels in both the gangways furnish information on various issues like Admissions, Appointments, Book Reviews, Faculty Publications, Fellowships, Orientation and Refresher Course details, Today's News and General information.

Working Hours:

Details Days Timings
Library Hours Working Days 8:30 AM to 8:00 PM
Sundays, Second Saturdays, Vacations and General Holidays 10:00 AM to 5:30 PM
Circulation Hours Working Days 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM
During Vacations 10:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Membership Details and Borrowing Privileges:

Faculty Members, Research Scholars, Students of Post-Graduate Departments and Administrative Staff of the university are eligible to become members of the library. Membership is also available to the outside members and organizations like Universities, Colleges, and Research Institutes.

Each member is issued with a membership card and borrowers ticket. Only one book is issued at a time against one borrower's ticket for a period of 15 days. The number of borrower's tickets to be issued to members varies as detailed below

Professor 25
Associate Professor 25
Assistant Professor 15
Research Scholar (Regular) 10
Research Scholar (External) 02
Post Graduate Student 03
Post Graduate Student (SC & ST) 03 + 03
Guest Faculty 05
Office Staff 02

Outside Members:

(A) Individual:

On payment of Rs 500/-p.a., any individual can become a library member of the Library and he/she will be provided with the library membership card and such members will be permitted to use the library during working hours except borrowing facilities.

(B) Institutional:

The Institutional membership is Rs 10,000/-p.a. This institutional membership permits any five members of the organization to the use the library during working hours except borrowing facilities.

Facilities and Infrastructure:


Overdue Charges:

Overdue charges will be collected from the defaulters who is returning the book after the due date as per below mentioned rates.

Number of days delayed after the due date Rates of Overdue charges
First 10 days 1 Rupee per day
From 11 - 20 days 2 Rupees per day
From 21 - 30 days 5 Rupees per day
From 30 days onwards 10 Rupees per day


The library is now computerized with an integrated system connected to the campus network, providing internet services to the university community. The reference collection of the library is continuously updated. Library database has been created using Libsys 4th version and it works in wide area network. On-line Public Access Catalogue (web OPAC) facility is available at the Circulation Desk at the entrance of the library. OPAC can also be accessed through internet address

Rules and Regulations:

Professionals Working in the Library:

Name Designation E-mail
Dr. M. K. Bhandi University Librarian
Dr. T. Y. Mallaiahi Deputy Librarian
Dr. Purushotham Gowda Deputy Librarian
Mrs. A. Nalini Bai Assistant Librarian -
Mr. K. K. Badami Assistant Librarian
Mrs. K. S Sumangala Assistant Librarian -
Mr. M. C. Jayappa Assistant Librarian -
Mrs. B. S. Jayalakshmi Assistant Librarian
Dr. K. Pushpalatha Assistant Librarian
Mrs. Shilpa Kumari Jain Library Assistant
Ms. Preethi Library Assistant
Mrs. Nagaveni Library Assistant
Ms. Savitha Kumari Library Assistant
Ms. Usha Library Assistant
Ms. Sumana S. Jogi Library Assistant